Title


The 6th International Verification Methods Workshop will be held in New Delhi, India, from March 13 to 19, 2014. The goal of the workshop is to promote recent advances in the theory and practice of verification of weather and climate forecasts worldwide. The workshop welcomes participants from operational, research, and forecast user communities to discuss methods for more effectively measuring and conveying the accuracy and utility of forecasts and warnings.
The workshop includes both a tutorial session (March 13-15) and a scientific program (March 17-19). The scientific program will feature keynote addresses as well as contributed talks and posters on new verification techniques and issues related to the practice of forecast verification. The deadline for submission of abstracts is January 31, 2014.
The tutorial session will include lectures and hands-on laboratory sessions using the R statistical language. Tutorial participants are cordially invited to bring their own datasets and verification problems. Space for the tutorial is strictly limited. The deadline for application to the tutorial is November 30, 2013.

  • Scientific Program Committee
    Elizabeth Ebert (CAWCR/BOM, chair) | e.ebert@bom.gov.au
    Nanette Lomarda (WMO) | nlomarda@wmo.int
    Lawrence Wilson (CMC) | Lawrence.Wilson@ec.gc.ca
    Marion Mittermaier (Met Office) | marion.mittermaier@metoffice.gov.uk
    Barbara Brown (NCAR) | bgb@ucar.edu
    Pertti Nurmi (FMI) | Pertti.nurmi@fmi.fi
  • Local Organizing Committee
    Gopal Iyengar (NCMRWF, chair) | gopal.iyengar@nic.in
    E. N. Rajagopal (NCMRWF) | en.rajagopal@nic.in
    D. K. Malik (IMD) | dk_malik@hotmail.com
    Shiv Dev Attri (IMD) | sdattri@gmail.com
    Raghavendra Ashrit (NCMRWF) | raghu.ashrit@nic.in
    Anumeha Dube (NCMRWF) | anumeha.dube@nic.in

Topics include:

  • Verification of high impact weather forecasts and warnings (heavy rain, TCs, etc.)
  • Verification of ensembles and probability forecasts
  • Evaluation of seasonal and long-term climate forecasts and projections
  • Propagation of uncertainty
  • Special topics
    • Regional verification (tropics, polar regions, etc.)
    • Aviation forecast verification
    • Hydrological verification
  • User issues – impact verification, communication, special event forecasts (e.g. Olympics)
  • Verification tools
  • New data sources for verification